So much archaeology, so little time

One of my main resolutions for 2014 is to visit more archaeological sites, some that I’ve seen before and many that I’ve been meaning to get to but haven’t yet managed.  I have a ‘hit list’ of British sites and my plan is to try and see at least one every week of the year. In order to record the experiences and also to share the joy of our wonderful heritage I am going to use this blog to write about each visit, both in terms of the archaeology itself and as a visitor experience, and I’ll illustrate it with photographs I take, such as the one at the top of this page from the Ring of Brodgar in Orkney last August.  In addition, given that we are never far from a public house in this country, it seems appropriate to tie my trips in with the sampling of local hostelries, with particular emphasis on their real ales, and to include these in my reports.

An archaeologist by training, I have a love of all things old and particular fondness for mortuary practice and time-wise for prehistory, specifically the Neolithic, and it is likely that my posts will reflect these interests although not exclusively.

Anyway, my first visit is planned for this coming weekend so watch this space!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

